Hunter Scarbrough Foundation Awards $77,000 in Scholarships


The Hunter Scarbrough Foundation recently awarded $77,000 in scholarships to 22 deserving Coweta County graduating seniors.

“Because of the generosity of so many over the past four years, we were able to reach our goal of giving more scholarships in what would have been Hunter’s senior year,” said Joni Scarbrough. “To this day, I’m awed by not only this community’s generosity. It is a true testament to not only how special Newnan is, but to the impact Hunter had on the lives of so many, that friends and strangers alike want to help us shine a light on so many deserving students.”

The Hunter Scarbrough Foundation was created to honor Hunter’s memory by presenting a one-time college scholarship to high school seniors who have demonstrated the qualities Hunter possessed and shared with others, including faith, leadership, academic perseverance, and community service.

Because of the COVID pandemic and the March 26 tornado that damaged much of Newnan High School, in lieu of the school’s traditional honors night, the foundation’s Board of Directors hosted a luncheon for Newnan High honor graduates and foundation scholarship recipients. There, the foundation’s Newnan High scholarships were presented, and honor graduates had an opportunity to receive their honor stoles.

“We wanted to do something special for these students who have been through so much over the past two years; something to bring a sense of normalcy here at the end of their senior year,” said Scarbrough. “We were able to do so after we received a couple of generous donations from friends who asked us to do something special with the money. We felt like this was the perfect answer.”

Even though what would have been Hunter’s senior year will conclude at the end of May, the foundation will continue to award scholarships to seniors at Coweta’s three public high schools as long as possible. The annual summer Glow Golf fundraiser will resume next year, after NHS can more fully recover from the tornado.

For more information on the Hunter Scarbrough Foundation, or to donate, please visit

East Coweta recipients each receiving $3500: Aamaria Bennett, Abigail Tew, Ryan Barber, Colby Love

Northgate recipients each receiving $3500:  Avery Longmeyer, Jordyn Patterson, Ryan Ledford, Will Stephens

Newnan High recipients each receiving $3500: Bo Batten, Julius Beavers, Gabe Bowles, Natalie Brauchler, Braedyn Helms, Robyn Long, Will Lovett, Leah McCall, Reagan London, Leah McCall, Turner Scarborough, Ava Shoemake, Willis Tripp, Abby Williams, Alex Williams

Leave a reply