2018 Coweta Schools Teacher Of The Year Finalists Announced


From Coweta County Schools Press Release
Three finalists for Coweta County’s 2018 Teacher of the Year have been chosen.
The finalists are:
• Cathrine Nolan, a science and agriculture teacher at the Central Educational Center
• Josh Tate, music teacher at Elm Street Elementary School

• Lori Beuttenmuller, English as a Second Language teacher at Welch Elementary School
Coweta County’s 2018 Teacher of the Year will be selected from among the three finalists, and announced at the Coweta County School System’s Teacher of the Year program on Wednesday, May 2.
The three finalists were selected from among 31 Teachers of the Year at Coweta’s public schools. Teachers of the Year are selected by their fellow certified educators at each school in recognition of their exemplary teaching. Honorees represent grade levels from Kindergarten through 12th grade and a range of educational disciplines including elementary grade instruction, math, physical education, sciences, music, special education, language arts and media specialists.
All 31 will be honored at the Coweta County Teacher of the Year Program, held Wednesday at the Centre for Performing and Visual Arts. The Coweta County Board of Education presents the program annually with the Newnan Pilot Club.
The 2018 Teachers of the Year from each school are:
From elementary schools:
Cristy Fogle, 5th Grade (Arbor Springs)
Kelly Stephens, 1st grade (Arnco-Sargent)
Christy Jennings, Music (Atkinson)
Kati Ferrell, EIP (Brooks)
Ruthie Prost, Kindergarten (Canongate)
Debra Jordan, 3rd Grade Math (Eastside)
Josh Tate, Music (Elm Street)
Deanna Betsill, 1st Grade (Glanton)
Daria Lewis, 2nd Grade (Jefferson Parkway)
Kim Robertson, 4th Grade (Moreland)
Amy Palma, 4th Grade (Newnan Crossing)
Wendi Oldham, 2nd Grade (Northside)
Mignon Perry, 3rd Grade (Poplar Road)
Molly Breyne, 4th Grade (Ruth Hill)
Shavonnda Teagle, 3rd Grade (Thomas Crossroads)
Lori Beuttenmuller, English as a Second Language (Welch)
Kelly Brown, 5th Grade Math (Western)
Sheila Bealing, 2nd Grade (White Oak)
SteveAnna Williams, Kindergarten (Willis Road)
From middle schools:
Polly Craft, 7th Grade English/Language Arts (Arnall Middle)
Barry Williams, 8th Grade Social Studies (East Coweta Middle)
Emily Marziliano, Special Education Math (Evans Middle)
Kristin Davis, 8th Grade Math (Lee Middle)
Angela Rembert, 7th Grade English/Language Arts (Madras Middle)
Carrie May, 8th Grade English/Language Arts (Smokey Road Middle)
Gordon Callaway, Middle School Literature (Maggie Brown Middle Alternative)
From high schools:
Cathrine Nolan, Science and Agriculture (Central Educational Center)
Dekima Leaphart, Science (East Coweta High)
Katie Hammond, US History (Newnan High)
Jody Haynes, Math (Northgate High)
Lisa Ottavio, Math (Winston Dowdell Academy)
TOTYs are selected are selected by their peers for the quality of their teaching, professional development, teaching philosophies and methods, community involvement, contributions to education, and their ability to inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn. They serve as public ambassadors of their profession, and Coweta County’s system-wide Teacher of the Year serves as the county’s nominee for Georgia Teacher of the Year.
Northgate High School English teacher Susan Barber was chosen as Coweta County’s 2017 Teacher of the Year, and will speak at this year’s program.
Photo Above: Coweta’s 2017 Teacher of the Year Susan Barber is awarded the honor by school board Chairman Larry Robertson a year ago.