Coweta County: Property Tax Bills mailed


From Special Reports

The Coweta County Tax Commissioner’s Office has announced that the 2023 property tax bills were mailed out to all property owners and payments are due Friday, December 1, 2023. 

“Tax bills are mailed to the legal owner of record as of January 1st as required by Georgia law,” explains Tax Commissioner Justin McMichael. “However, bills are also mailed to the most current owner of a property as reflected on the Tax Assessors’ records as of the date the billing file was created; that is, properties that have changed ownership since January 1st.”

The Tax Commissioner’s Office is collecting property tax payments for all taxpayers of Coweta County as well as city taxes for Newnan, Senoia, Grantville, Moreland, Haralson, Sharpsburg and Turin.

If a property owner does not receive their tax bill for a property they own by mid-October, they are advised to visit the Tax Commissioner’s Office website ( and print the bill themselves. Please remember, if one is a new owner, the property may be listed in the name of the January 1st owner.

Please note: Governor Brian Kemp signed the Property Tax Relief Grant this year that will provide a one-time state exemption amount of $18,000 for Georgia homesteads. Property owners that have a homestead exemption on their property will receive an $18,000 credit that reduces the amount of taxes due for the 2023 tax year.

Below please find helpful information and reminders regarding property taxes.


  • Property owners who have their taxes paid through a mortgage company should forward a copy (or the top stub) of the bill to their mortgage company to ensure payment is made by the December 1st deadline. Late charges will begin accruing after that date.
  • Taxpayers are reminded that mortgage companies usually do not send payment until a few weeks before the due date even though the taxes may have been deducted from a taxpayer’s escrow account weeks earlier. A taxpayer can check to see if their tax bill has been paid by searching the Tax Commissioner’s Office website.


  • The Tax Commissioner’s Office accepts cash, check, debit and credit card payments through Visa, Master Card, Discover and American Express. A processing fee applies to all credit card payments, 3% for American Express and 2.5% for all other cards. Online payments can be made at the Tax Commissioner’s website. The same processing fee applies. E-Checks are also accepted on the website.
  • Taxpayers may also make payments using the Tax Commissioner’s Office automated telephone service by calling 770-589-1550. Taxpayers are advised to have their tax bill number ready.
  • Property owners may also pay their bill online using the QR code on the tax bill. Scan the QR code with a smart phone and they will be redirected to the Tax Commissioner’s Office website where payment can be made quickly and easily by credit card (a processing fee will apply).


  • Taxpayers who appealed their 2023 property assessment during the appeal period with the Tax Assessor’s Office and whose appeal was not settled by the time tax bills were processed, will receive a “Temporary Tax Bill” based on 85% of the Assessor’s Office proposed valuation. The Temporary Tax Bills are also due December 1st.
  • Settlement of the appeal will result in either a partial refund or additional taxes due.
  • If a property owner did not appeal their property valuation with the Tax Assessor’s Office during the appeal period, it is too late to do so for the 2023 tax year.


  • The Tax Commissioner’s Office is now located at 87 Newnan Station Drive, Newnan GA 30265.
    • The site has a drive-thru to pay property tax payments as well as a secure drop box to submit payments after-hours.
    • If citizens would like to submit their payment in-person, they can go inside and join the queuing system. Property owners will be required to sign into the queue and will be notified when a window is available to accept their payment.   
  • Anyone needing to visit the Tax Commissioner’s Office may also make an appointment, check the wait time and sign into the queue using a link on the Tax Commissioner’s website.

 For more information, please visit the Tax Commissioner’s Office website (, visit in-person or call 770-254-2670.

Leave a reply