Thursday: Pollen count at 1,592

378
0
Share:

From Staff Reports

Despite the early morning rain, the Metro Atlanta Pollen Count remains in the Extremely High Range for the second straight day.

Today’s count is 1,592 and follows Wednesday’s total of 1,755.  It’s only the 3rd time in 2021 the count has been above 1,000. That is quite a contrast to a year ago when the pollen count was above 1,000 a total of 9 times in the month of March.

Trees continue to be the top contributors to the pollen count with oak, pine, sycamore, mulberry and hackberry the most active. Grass and weed pollens are in the Moderate range today and mold is presently registering in the Low range.

Last year, the Pollen Count reached 1,000-or-more a total of 19 times and hit its peak on March 29 at 8,918. The record-high for Metro Atlanta is 9,369 set on March 20, 2012.

The Pollen Count is the measurement of the number of pollen grains in a cubic meter of air. The higher the pollen count, more than likely it leads to increased rates of an allergic reaction for folks with allergic disorders.

Here’s the day-by-day Pollen Count since March 1:

March 1, Monday … 464 … High
March 2, Tuesday … 373 … High
March 3, Wednesday … 71 … Moderate
March 4, Thursday … 357 … High
March 5, Friday … 201 … High
March 8, Monday … 113 … High
March 9, Tuesday … 69 … Moderate
March 10, Wednesday … 147 … High
March 11, Thursday … 290 … High
March 12, Friday … 249 … High
March 13, Saturday … 172 … High
March 14, Sunday … 119 … High
March 15, Monday … 176 … High
March 16, Tuesday … 1191 … High
March 17, Wednesday … 20 … Moderate
March 18, Thursday … 9 … Low
March 19, Friday … 363 … High
March 20, Saturday … 94 … High
March 21, Sunday … 59 … Moderate
March 22, Monday … 40 … Moderate
March 23, Tuesday … 268 … High
March 24, Wednesday … 1755 … Extremely High
March 25, Thursday … 1592 … Extremely High

For more information on the Pollen Count, visit: http://www.atlantaallergy.com/pollen_counts/.

Leave a reply

Share: