Wednesday: Pollen Count surpasses 5,000

250
0
Share:

From Staff Reports

For the 8th straight day, the Metro Atlanta Pollen Count continues to be in the Extremely High Range and is over 5,000.

Atlanta Allergy & Asthma reports today’s count at 5,031, the 2nd-highest count of 2021 just behind the 6,947 on Sunday. Tree pollens – pine, oak, sycamore, mulberry and birch – are the top contributors. Grass is in the Moderate Range while Weeds (Sheep Sorrel) and Mold are in the Low Range.

Today’s weather forecast should knock down the Pollen Count tomorrow as showers and thunderstorms are likely this afternoon and overnight. Rain chances are at 80 percent as a strong cold front moves through which will push tonight’s low down to 36 degrees.

Last year, the Pollen Count reached 1,000-or-more a total of 19 times. So far in 2021, the Pollen Count has been above 1,000 only 9 times. The record-high for Metro Atlanta is 9,369 set on March 20, 2012.

The Pollen Count is the measurement of the number of pollen grains in a cubic meter of air. The higher the pollen count, more than likely it leads to increased rates of an allergic reaction for folks with allergic disorders.

Here’s the day-by-day Pollen Count since March 15:

March 15, Monday … 176 … High
March 16, Tuesday … 1191 … High
March 17, Wednesday … 20 … Moderate
March 18, Thursday … 9 … Low
March 19, Friday … 363 … High
March 20, Saturday … 94 … High
March 21, Sunday … 59 … Moderate
March 22, Monday … 40 … Moderate
March 23, Tuesday … 268 … High
March 24, Wednesday … 1755 … Extremely High
March 25, Thursday … 1592 … Extremely High
March 26, Friday … 2965 … Extremely High
March 27, Saturday … 2691 … Extremely High
March 28, Sunday … 6974 … Extremely High
March 29, Monday … 3675 … Extremely High
March 30, Tuesday … 2482 … Extremely High
March 31, Wednesday … 5031 … Extremely High

For more information on the Pollen Count, visit: http://www.atlantaallergy.com/pollen_counts/.

Leave a reply

Share: