Coweta Schools honor 2018-19 retirees at Banquet


From Coweta County Schools Press Release

The Coweta County School System and School Board members honored 2018-19 retirees at a banquet on May 30 at the Newnan Centre.

Over 50 retirees and their family members attended the banquet, which was organized by the school system’s Human Resources department and the Coweta County Board of Education. Retirees included teachers, paraprofessionals, administrators, custodial staff, bus drivers and technicians, representing hundreds of years of professional experience.

“In the course of your careers, you have carried out the mission of your school and the school system,” Board Vice-Chair Beth Barnett told retirees. “You nurtured the whole child and impacted the lives of so many students for the better.”

Board Chair Amy Dees thanked the retirees for their service and congratulated them on engaging in new phases of their lives.  Superintendent Steve Barker said that their service to students, families and schools had “touched lives with a sphere of influence you will never fully know.”

Among those retiring from the Coweta County School System in the 2018-19 school year were:
Sharon Adkins, Arnall Middle
Martha Akins, Arnall Middle
Adrian Anderson, Northgate High
Peniston Arnold, Thomas Crossroads Elementary
Matthew Bailey, Ruth Hill Elementary
Mark Ballou, Central Educational Center Principal
Pam Barfield, Canongate Elementary
Shelia Barnes, Arnall Middle
Mary Bareera, Smokey Road Middle
Kirstie Bassett, Thomas Crossroads Elementary
Alma Beasley, Newnan Crossing Elementary
Lori Bradley, Brooks Elementary
Vickie Bray, After School Program Coordinator
Harold Brim, Evans Middle
Georgia Bryant, East Coweta High
Elisa Bunn, East Coweta High
Melissa Chambers, Welch
Tina Churchill, Northgate High
Elizabeth Collinsworth, East Coweta High
Joyce Colton, Newnan Crossing
Alvin Cooke, Thomas Crossroads
Kim Crawford, Ruth Hill
Amy Dawson, Elm Street
Deborah Duck, Ruth Hill
Wanda Eillis, School Transportation
John Erdogan, Newnan High
Chris Evans, Werz Central Office (Accounting)
Thomas Everett, Newnan High
Bonnie Fain, Northside
Vanessa Gee, Northgate High
Deborah Grasso, Madras Middle
Charles Grovenstein, Evans Middle
Leslie Hayes, White Oak
Beverly Head, Northside
Jodie Hobbs, Newnan High
Ron Howard, School System Operations
Susan Hubbell, East Coweta High
Rena Hudson, Newnan High
Pamela Hughes, Northgate High
Tammy Hyder, East Coweta Middle
Louise Jackson, Poplar Road
Gloria Johnson, Madras Middle
Sandra Khoeis, White Oak
Terrie Levingston, Northside
Sherry Lott, Canongate
Carrie Luckie, Western
Audrey Mallet, Madras Middle
Donna McDaniel, Newnan High
Jimmy McKoy, School System Operations
Sally Millians, School System Head Nurse
Jim Mills, Central Educational Center
Doug Moore, School System Operations Director
Amanda Petite, Smokey Road Middle
Carolyn Pierce, Northgate High
Brown Powell, School Transportation
Catherine Pugh, Northgate High
Susan Quesinberry, Newnan High
Susan Ray, White Oak
Beverly Rodgers, School Transportation
Vicki Shepherd, Werz Central Office
Maria Skandalakis-Carroll, Werz Central Office
Evelyn Smith, Jefferson Parkway
Nadene Smith, Northgate High
Diane Smith Hollins, Moreland
Lori Stockham, White Oak
Sharon Sutton, Thomas Crossroads
Kathy Tingle, Poplar Road
Beth Travis, Newnan High
Carol Tucker, Newnan High
Janice Wallace, Welch
Ron Wolfe, Northgate High
Linda Woodruff, Poplar Road
Alfredo Zavaleta, East Coweta High

2018-19 Coweta school system retirees honored at a dinner on May 30 included, left to right, front Row, Sharon Adkins, Martha Akins, Adrian Anderson, Matthew Bailey, Shelia Barnes, Mary Bareera, Kirstie Bassett, Alma Beasley, Lori Bradley, Harold Brim, Melissa Chambers, Tina Churchill; second row Elizabeth Collinsworth, Kim Crawford, Amy Dawson, Deborah Duck, Wanda Eillis, Thomas Everett, Bonnie Fain, Vanessa Gee, Leslie Hayes, Beverly Head, Jodie Hobbs, third row Tammy Hyder, Louise Jackson, Gloria Johnson, Terrie Levingston, Carrie Luckie, Audrey Mallet, Donna McDaniel, Jimmy McKoy, Sally Millians, Doug Moore, Amanda Petite, Brown Powell, back row Catherine Pugh, Susan Quesinberry, Susan Ray, Diane Smith Hollins, Evelyn Smith, Nadene Smith, Sharon Sutton, Kathy Tingle, Beth Travis, Carol Tucker, Ron Wolfe, and Linda Woodruff.

Central Educational Center High School Program Principal Mark Ballou retired this year after 38 years of a career in education.  Nearly half of his tenure was spent presiding over CEC’s high school program (and the later addition of middle grades at the charter school), nearly since the unique charter school’s inception. He is pictured above, center, with CEC staff on the last day of the 2018-19 school year.

Ruth Hill Elementary School retiring teacher Kim Crawford is congratulated by Board of Education members Beth Barnett and Sue Brown.

Coweta County School System head nurse Sally Millians is congratulated on her career in the school system, along with school system Safety and Operations Director Doug Moore, on May 30.  They were among 50 system retirees honored at a May 30 banquet.

Leave a reply