Coweta students win Coweta-Fayette EMC scholarships


From Special Reports

Thirteen Coweta County students received a total of $23,000 in scholarships from Coweta-Fayette EMC. Five students received Melissa Segars Memorial Scholarships, worth $3,000 each; and eight received Coweta-Fayette Trust Technical Scholarships, worth $1,000 each. 

The Coweta-Fayette EMC Trust awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to local students each spring. The Melissa Segars Memorial Scholarship recognizes high school seniors with a dedication to community service. The Coweta-Fayette Trust Technical Scholarship recognizes deserving students attending Southern Crescent Technical College (SCTC) or West Georgia Technical College (WGTC).

Melissa Segars Memorial Scholarship winners from Coweta County are: Victoria Beil, East Coweta High School; Thomas Comte, Northgate High School; Samuel Folsom, Northgate High School; Emory Palmer, Newnan High School; and Mary Poulakos, The Heritage School.       

Coweta-Fayette Trust Technical Scholarship winners from Coweta County are: La’Shandis Brown, SCTC; Rhonda Dunn, WGTC; Chelsea McBrayer, SCTC; Cathy Privett, WGTC; Hannah Rowan, SCTC; Megan Simpson, WGTC; Jin-Eik Tan, WGTC; and Jennifer Wilson, WGTC. 

Both Melissa Segars Scholarships and Coweta-Fayette Trust Technical Scholarships are made possible by Operation Round-Up. Operation Round-Up is a program in which Coweta-Fayette EMC members voluntarily “round-up” their electric bills to benefit the community.

If you are a Coweta-Fayette EMC member and you would like to support scholarships for local students, as well as local organizations and individuals in need, visit and sign up for Operation Round-Up. For pennies a month, you can make a difference in the lives of many.

Coweta-Fayette EMC is a member-owned electric cooperative, serving over 82,000 accounts, headquartered in Palmetto, Ga. 

Leave a reply