Smith named Chairman of House Natural Resources & Environment Committee


From Special Reports

ATLANTA – The Georgia House of Representatives’ Committee on Assignments named State Representative Lynn Smith (R-Newnan) as the Chairman of the House Natural Resources & Environment Committee.

“I am honored to continue serving as Chairman of the Natural Resources & Environment Committee,” said Rep. Smith. “Since beginning my chairmanship in 2005, I have sought to find the balance between the environmental and economic needs of the state to ensure quality of life for all Georgians.”

The House Committee on Assignments, chaired by House Speaker Jon Burns (R-Newington), is charged with making all House committee assignments for the members of the Georgia House of Representatives. 

The Natural Resources & Environment Committee is assigned legislation pertaining to management, quality, and usage of Georgia’s natural resources. Within the full committee, there are two standing subcommittees: Environmental Quality and Resource Management. Legislation is assigned to these subcommittees based on the subject matter of each individual bill or resolution. The Committee Chairman is Representative Lynn Smith from Newnan, Georgia.

For a complete list of all House committee assignments, please click here.

Representative Lynn Smith represents the citizens of District 70, which includes portions of Carroll and Coweta counties. She was elected to the House of Representatives in 1996 and currently serves as Chairman of the Natural Resources & Environment Committee.

Leave a reply